Bob Marshall Wilderness

Located in the Flathead, Lolo and Lewis & Clark National Forests in Montana. The 1,009,356 acre Bob Marshall Wilderness is located in

Learn More

Flathead Lake Montana

Flathead Lake is considered the largest freshwater lake west of the Mississippi within the boundaries of the continental United States. The Lake contains

Learn More

Glacier National Park

In 1910, Congress established Glacier National Park in Montana. Conservationist George Bird Grinnell played a key role in the creation of this

Learn More

St Ignatius Montana

St. Ignatius is a town in Lake County, Montana, United States. The population was 788 at the 2000 census. The town is located on theFlathead...

Read More

National Bison Range

The National Bison Range is administered by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service as part of the National Wildlife Refuge...

Read More

Montana’s Native Americans

The history of the various modern tribes in the part of America we now call "Montana," is characterized by movement...

Read More

Homesteading in the Mission Valley

Interview: Robert Castro Topic: Homesteading in the Mission Valley Date: May 27, 2000 Interviewer: Jason Cavett What background information do...

Read More

Recreation Opportunities

Hiking and Backpacking Montana is a word derived from the Latin expression meaning "mountainous." The rugged Continental Divide zigzags across western Montana from the jagged peaks of Glacier Park to the ancient Beartooth plateau. In all there are 77 mountain ranges in Montana. The potential for hiking and backpacking in Big Sky Country is endless and inviting. And don't forget; when you're in the backcounty, it pays to be prepared...


Glacier National Park

In 1910, Congress established Glacier National Park in Montana. Conservationist George Bird Grinnell played a key role in the creation of this park in order to preserve the land's natural beauty. Indians have always revered this region. The Blackfeet, Salish, and Kootenai Indians, who have lived in the area for hundreds of years, consider it a sacred place. Glacier National Park is named for the glaciers that produced its landscape....

Read More

Lakes and Rivers

The Flathead River The Flathead River, in the northwestern part of the U.S. state of Montana, originates in the Rocky Mountains near Glacier National Park...

Treaty of Hell Gate, 1855

Articles of agreement and convention made and concluded at the treatyground at Hell Gate, in the Bitter Root Valley, this sixteenth day of July, in...

State Parks around Flathead Lake

Flathead Lake maintains 185 miles of shoreline and contains 200 square miles of natural freshwater earning it the title “the largest natural freshwater lake west of...

Lake County Montana

Located in northwestern Montana, Lake County is Montana’s ninth most populous with 26,904 residents, according to the 2001 estimates produced by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Polson, the county seat, is the state’s 18th largest city with a population of 4,041, according to the 2000 Census.

According to the Montana Almanac, by authors Andrea Merrill and Judy Jacobson, the county was established in 1923 and was one of the last counties to be formed in Montana.

The authors add Flathead Lake was the inspiration for Lake county’s name and Polson was named for Mission Valley stockman David Polson. Lake County is home to the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes of the Flathead Nation. The Flathead Reservation was established by the Hellgate Treaty of 1855.

In 1845, Father Pierre Jean DeSmet arrived and helped establish the first permanent mission at St. Ignatius in 1854. Lake County is also home to the Mission Valley and Mission Mountain Range, Flathead Lake, the National Bison Range, Bob Marshall Wilderness and close to Glacier National Park.

According to the U.S. Bureau of the Census, median income for Lake County households in 2000 was $26,169. The county is 1,653.8 square miles in area; 1,493.8 square miles in land area and 159.9 in inland water area. County residents experience the four distinct seasons.